2019 NSK Finalists

Cuban American author Margarita Engle is the 2017–2019 national Young People’s Poet Laureate and a USBBY 2019 Astrid Lindgren Award nominee. She is the author of many verse novels, including The Surrender Tree, a Newbery Honor winner, and The Lightning

Finalists Announced for 2019 NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature

The 2019 NSK Nominees (top, left-to-right) Margarita Engle (Photo: Sandra Rios Balderrama), René Colato Laínez, Ana Maria Machado, (middle, left-to-right) Isabel Minhós Martins, Hilary McKay, Yuyi Morales, (bottom, left-to-right) Beverley Naidoo (Photo: Linda Brownlee), Renée Watson, and Jeanette Winter. We are honored to announce the finalists for

2019 NSK Jury

Socorro Acioli was born in Fortaleza, Ceará, Brazil. She is a journalist, has a master’s degree in Brazilian children’s literature, and a PhD in literary studies from the Universidade Federal Fluminense, Rio de Janeiro. She started her career in 2001

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

2017 NSK Finalists

2017 NSK Finalists

Alma Flor Ada is a Cuban American poet and author of both children’s and adult works in English and Spanish. Growing up among a family of storytellers in Camagüey, Cuba, she would earn her PhD from the Pontificia Universidad Católica

2015 NSK Finalists

Benjamin Alire Sáenz Benjamin Alire Sáenz, USA. Selected work: Sammy and Juliana in Hollywood. Nominated by J. L. Powers.   David Small David Small, USA. Selected work: The Gardener. Nominated by Kathryn Otoshi.   Jamila Gavin Jamila Gavin, England and India. Selected work: Blackberry

2015 NSK Neustadt Prize Jury

Kathleen T. Horning Kathleen T. Horning is director of the Cooperative Children’s Book Center of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She is a graduate of UW-Madison and has worked her entire career at the CCBC, beginning