The NSK Prize

The NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature, initiated in 2003, aims to enhance the quality of children’s literature by promoting writing that contributes to the quality of their lives.

About the NSK Neustadt Prize

NSK Neustadt Prize Medallion in Hand-Carved Wood Box Since 2003, the NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature has been awarded every other year to a living writer or author-illustrator with significant achievement in children’s or young-adult literature. Made possible through the generosity of Nancy Barcelo, Susan Neustadt Schwartz, and Kathy Neustadt and sponsored by World Literature Today, the University of Oklahoma’s award-winning magazine of international literature, the NSK Prize celebrates literature that contributes to the quality of children’s lives. Candidates for the award are nominated by a jury of children’s literature writers, illustrators, or scholars, and the jury also selects the winner of each [...]


A Look Back At…

  • 2009 – Vera B. Williams

    "For Williams, writing begins and ends with being immersed in the human condition, and out of the world springs the text, refined by craft and discipline."—Daniel Simon, WLT March 2010 Vera B. Williams (b. 1927) was born in California, but moved to New York City when she was a young child. It was there that she tailored her love of the arts, studying dance, acting, and painting. She attended Black Mountain Arts College in North Carolina, where she studied graphic arts. Her career as an…


NSK Quotes

Katherine Paterson’s books have blessed children and children’s literature by putting human faces on all kinds of characters. She’s made marginal children seem less marginal, foreign children less foreign, and hopeless children more hopeful. In addition to elevating children’s literature, Paterson’s books and stories have also inspired readers to elevate themselves and their world.” — Chris Crowe, WLT Vol. 82, May 2008

Get Email Updates

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Recent Neustadt Festival Media